The stage coach route ran along Main Street in the growing village of Williamsville, NY. To attract area residents and travelers, The Glen Park Tavern was constructed in 1887 and has been operating as a restaurant and pub ever since. Come dine in the original brick building with hand-hewn beams, original mahogany bar, and hardwood floors.
Today The Glen Park Tavern remains at the hub of the community — a meeting place where friends and family can enjoy good food, easy conversation and great spirits. We’re open 7 days a week for lunch, brunch, takeouts, caterings and dinner. Enjoy!
As “a narrow secluded valley”, our Glen on the banks of nearby Ellicott Creek played and continues to play a prominent part in the rich history of the Village of Williamsville.
Created as a hamlet, the Village of Williamsville first adopted the name “Williams’ Mills” after Jonas Williams, who constructed a rough mill on the East bank of Ellicott Creek in 1811. William abandoned that mill to erect another on the West bank. Converted to a military garrison during the War of 1812, “Williams Mills” would thereafter become known as Williamsville, and the village officially incorporated in 1850. It still serves as a center of trade and commerce with farms being replaced by village homes.
Amherst’s first Town Board Meeting was held in 1819 at The Mansion House, a tavern house of Frederick Miller, on the southeast corner of Main and Cayuga Streets. (While history does not ecord whether the taps were running, the official minutes of the meeting relate that it was resolved to vote “hogs as free commoners.”) The stage coach route ran along Main Street in the rowing village. To attract area residents and travelers, The Glen Park Tavern was constructed in 1887 and has been operating as a restaurant and pub ever since. You are dining in the original brick building with hand-hewn beams, portions of the original mahogany bar, and hardwood floors.